What a lovely day:-

By BKeeper

for a Bit of Brightness

I had to go in to Ramsey this morning. On walking back to my car I had the pleasure of seeing the official vehicle of Beach Buddies.

This reminded me that in my blip of 7th February.  I was then assisting in the removal of rubbish from the sea shore.  A not insignificant part of this rubbish consisted of fragments of commercial fishing nets.  The fragments comprised a very tough green woven plastic.

Completely by chance the Isle of Man ferry Ben my Chree (tr. girl of my heart) reportedly had her propeller fouled by fishing net whilst entering Douglas harbour last night. The unfortunate passengers spent four hours marooned in the harbour.

It is beginning  to look as if there may be a problem with the method of using this type of net in commercial fishing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.