The Strength of Liddesdale

I went down to Hawick this afternoon to do a home check for Second Chance Cat Rescue.  I left home early so that I could pop into a furniture store where I ended up buying an enormous sideboard so now I have five days to sell enough of my current furniture to make room for it!

After my purchase, I still had an hour to kill so I had a drive down the Newcastleton road, the one I take the minibus down every Tuesday night that I have never actually been down in the daylight. I passed houses, a viaduct and even a train which I had no idea were there.   I got as far as Hermitage Castle also known as "the guardhouse of the bloodiest valley in Britain" or the "Strength of Liddesdale".   It's only open to the public from April to September so I couldn't even get in the gate to get a picture.  This one was taken from the roadside.

This place has always given me the creeps and today didn't do anything to alleviate this.  I will go back in the summer though.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.