People on a Bridge

By zerohour

Lovely piece of writing

I found this article in my work's break room, in a monthly publication titled "Southern Living". It features a number of portraits and interviews with African-American women from the Mississippi Delta. I tried to find it online, alas the link appears to be broken. Here is my favorite quote, from Mrs. Florida B. Smith, age 87.

"I would say think. Think before you jump, and check things out. You don't know what you  jumpin' into. You know, just because you see a person, or a job, and it looks good, everything that looks good ain't good. So, think and then pray and ask for wisdom. And if you get something good, know how to treat it after you get it, because a lot of people get something good, they don't know how to treat it until they then lost it."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.