An Unkindness of Ravens

By Nevermore

Sleepy wasp

A Yellow Flower Wasp (Agriomyia sp) waking up. 


I'm on a mission to find where insects spend their nights! So far, I have found one small bee, a butterfly and this wasp, all atop various long grasses in my garden. No sign of the BBBs though.  I tried wandering around with a torch just after sunset, which did yield the bee and butterfly (they were still there in the morning, so I know they spent the night there), but also resulted in an unacceptable number of mozzie bites... I found this wasp in the morning, while it was still cold and before the sun hit it. (Actually, the sun hasn't been seen today... and it's still not very warm). If you look large, the wasp is a bit dewey (no hoses involved in this one!), but it flew away just after I took the photo. I probably need to get out earlier.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.