spaces

After a nice, slow morning waking up and having coffee, headed up to Stef and Jason's with my parents to pick up Famous Seamus. As I was driving myself back in my mom's car, I made my traditional Denver pit-stop to one of my favorite bookstores, The Tattered Cover. Picked up a nice Taschen book about Polaroids, one of the few Paul Auster books I haven't read (it was in the bargain bin...), and Edouard Leve's Autoportrait (I've been meaning to pick up Suicide for quite some time). Grabbed another coffee and sat reading, inside, amongst the vast spaces of these wing chairs. Ridiculous, I thought. Here I am in Colorado and it is 67 degrees--why am I inside? Headed outdoors, to the iron tables, and finished reading until it was time to head back South. I love it here, such an "outdoor culture" (not really sure what other term to use). A plethora of cyclists and cycling infrastructure (extensive path networks, bike-share stations), walkers/runners, outdoor cafes and eateries. Not only are the summers particularly mild but there is very little humidity or gusty winds. In other words, everything that is the opposite to where Leah and I live now, at least in terms of the weather (I had no idea Fort Worth was so windy...and that such windiness would annoy me so much)

Still a lot planned in the coming days: dinner tonight at Whole Foods, the Denver Aquarium on Friday, possibly meeting up with some friends/colleagues on Sunday (my boss Peggy is up here helping her daughter move in, she is going to be living just a few blocks from where my old friend Katie lives, in the Highlands neighborhood of north Denver, so we all might try to meet up; also may meet up with an even older friend, JB, who I have known since the 6th grade, though he is in Boulder).

Always good times here, good memories. As well as the forging of new ones. Again, great futures await ahead here for Leah and I, I'd say. Cheers for now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.