Lookabootye

By hcalibrarian

University Apiary

This afternoon I visited the University apiary for the first time. I've been looking forward to this for ages. It was the University Beekeeper, Faye, who told me about the beekeeping course which I'm now attending. Today she introduced me to the nuc (nucleus of a colony) which I'll be looking after this year. I'm very excited about this. My nuc is second from the right in this blip.

We also opened her very tall hive and checked for FEDSS (food, eggs, disease, space and signs of swarming). We noticed queen eggs and this is a sign of swarming, and so we set up a new nuc with these frames and some more bees to help prevent this. There's such a lot to learn about bees!

Oh, and we also saw lots of lovely honey. Yum :o)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.