Rebuilding

By RadioGirl

Flying (Cups and) Saucers

I had another blipmeet today, after my previous (and first ever) one with JohnH1989 a few weeks ago.  This time it was StuartRobertson's turn to visit.  He's down in London from Glasgow for a few days to attend last night's launch of the Mackintosh Architecture Exhibition which officially opened today at RIBA, a couple of hundred yards along Portland Place from Broadcasting House.  Naturally, Stuart took quite a few photos around both Old and New BH - I love the picture he's blipped tonight of one of the two helical staircases leading down onto the huge newsroom floor.  It was lovely to meet Stuart, and I hope we'll do another blipmeet after I've retired, when I pay a long-overdue visit to Glasgow for a break.

After Stuart and I said our farewells at 5 p.m., I went out in search of some supper and a decent coffee before starting the rest of this evening's shift at 6 o'clock.  This rather surreal display of cups and saucers hovers over the customers in the illy Caffè in Regent Street.  It's now 8 p.m., and I've just time to publish before heading down to Studio 50A for tonight's live edition of Free Thinking - going out at 10 p.m. on Radio 3.  If I can stay awake, that is...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.