anything, except nothing

Considering that my bare-minimum commute can be as little as three and a half miles the amount of stuff I usually carry could easily be interpreted as far too much, especially when I take a big adjustable wrench (which I only need when I'm on the non-quickly-released-wheels sparebike as the emergency pedal spanner on the multi-tool looks like it's getting ready to snap) in addition to the multi-tool and a cassette and freewheel removal tool and appropriate handle (which could conceivably be required to replace a broken drive-side rear spoke but which cannot be considered vital-to-get-home equipment when I always carry a spoke key) in addition to the vital stuff like a fresh tube (though mine is currently on loan) and puncture kit (hopefully including at least one with some usable glue) and multi-tool and spoke key and Allen key set (for where the Allen keys on the multi-tool are lightly-burred) and pliers. Worrying that I might be taking too much for the longish ride scheduled for tomorrow (which included hills) I tried to cut it down a bit, removing the adjustable wrench and cassette removal tool lever. It turned out that I need not have worried about my speed but a slightly cut-down toolset in the toolbag in the pannier should be handier when using a lunchtime for a top-up mini-shop with a subsequent need to take shopping home alongside all the extra stuff I usually take to work (flask, muffin-case, thermal lunch-bag).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.