Journey 2 Ithaki

By spartan

Fjords...

...of the Ilkley moor

Roamed the moor under the warm sunshine and gorgeous light conditions before the Badger Stone Relay, thinking, running, taking photos and later running the relay too.

Don't ask me why I see this as Fjords and dream that the sea was once upon a time filling the valley, it could be the passing through the 12 Apostles. This place at night really makes people think of the story about abductions by UFOs and druids performing rituals. I kept on looking at my watch though as I wanted to be down at White Wells by 6:45 so I take the straight path towards the top of the rocky path. On the way the sun gave the moor million of shades from golden, to brown to purple to the 40 shades of green

When I reached the top of the rocky path and I was on the top of the cliffs, I was blown away by the amazing light conditions and the rays of the sun filtering through a slight mist and thin white cloud. I took many wonderful shots but I shared the one with the two people standing at the edge. There was an interesting occurring on the other direction again at the edge of rock but I didnt snap that and actually in a moment of shyness closed my eyes and turned the other way when this Eastern European girl (judging from her accent and language) took her top off completely and lied down on the edge of the rock ...she wasn't alone by the way. FKK beaches moving to the UK?

The markers for the race were up and I was running out of time to get to the bottom but in a moment of craziness I thought I would reccie the remaining course of the top and inspect the Badger Stone too. That felt like a long way in the heat and when I got there as I was running out of time, I got changed on the bench and ran the way down following the markers. It was a nice course and I knew I would have to take advantage of the downhill and go blazing fast to do a good time.

By this time I nearly had 10 miles on my legs when I got to White Wells for registration but was nicely warmed up or perhaps overheated. Sometimes I do doubt if I was born a Greek or I am from Iceland.

With no team I thought I was not going to run but then I was pointed to a lone Bingley Harrier and a few minutes later the team was complete with the addition of a 10 year old girl E that is fast (god she is fast) and we were ready to go. E said to me, don't worry about the time...just have FUN. That melted my heart.

Just to conclude the story here by saying that I was happy to see so many people but amongst them the wonderful Earthdreamer, who I haven't had a chance talking to for long, but I think he had no time to talk to all the people that knows and knew him.

The universe turned a black cloud eventually over the moor after my relay leg where the sun fried us, especially me wearing my bandana to give cooler conditions to leg 2 and leg 3 runners.

I have to rush now as it's orienteering night tonight and perhaps another run over the moor looking for certain places and hidden markers. :-O

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.