Who am I to disagree?

By longshanks

Blipmeet at Loch Ruthven

Heading to the north west of Scotland today for a week in my favourite part of the country. We planned a stop off at Loch Ruthven to see the Slavonian Grebes (check out RCB's blip) and knowing that christinePears was in the area we set up a wee blipmeet.

It was strange when she walked in the hide. You get so much information on blip it's like meeting an old friend, but an old friend you've never met before! Christine was accompanied by her son caileanmac and we had what were definitely the best views of the Grebes that I've had on any visit.

Time for a coffee and a chat. I've always been impressed with the energy and enthusiasm that shines through in Christine's blips and now having heard of some of her adventures I'm seriously impressed. We were then joined by mrscatmac and their two lads and realising I hadn't pointed the camera in Christines direction I couldn't resist when Finlaggan sat on her lap.

We resumed our journey north, just south of Ullapool Mrs L exclaims "Oh no, I forgot the duvet". We're supposed to bring our own linen, but rather than just a duvet cover we'd planned on just taking the duvet off our bed. Hey ho it was still on our bed in Perth! Well possibly you can buy a duvet cover in Ullapool, but we couldn't find any shop that came close. We carried on north a little downhearted. Passing the Inchnadamph Hotel I thought, they'll have duvet covers, perhaps they'll sell me one - I'll even give them it back free at the end of the week!!

Well thank you Inchnadamph Hotel they gave us a brand new duvet cover, still in its wrapper, well actually ripped wrapper with a slight rip in the cover - they were going to throw it out and absolutely refused to take any money for it.

We popped in to Rob & Jean at Clachtoll campsite before heading on to our chalet. First job of course was to set up the telescope for the view over Culkein Bay - I think we're going to like it here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.