Piazza

I'm not the type to sit on the porch and watch life go by.
Sally Rand


Oh yes you are, Raspberry.

Piazza cleaned and set up for the house's 119th summer. It's like adding another room, yearly excitement, and dinner on the piazza. It's my childhood between screens, my mind flashing back to warm nights lit by fireflies or overhead light. Parcheesi board unfolded, Nora, Gordon and young Betsey gathered close. The game played by my grandparents since their honeymoon begins again. Muted thumping of dice rolling around in the little cardboard shakers drowning out the crickets and night noises, summer between screens once again.

Piazza Boy

For the Record,
This day came in warm and sunny. I'll go to the cemetery after lunch to plant some red geraniums on the graves of both sets of grandparents, Nora & Gordon, Clare & Ruth and my parents, Ellen & Ralph, for Memorial Day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.