yvonnekgray

By Dollykgray

MonoMonday - Ancient Buildings.

This is the Stadtschloß Gmünd (Gmünd castle), the oldest building in our area. The former Habsburg castle dates back to the 12th century. In 1985 it was sold to a cooperative and now contains privately owned apartments, at least 4 of them are rented out as holiday accommodation. See here.
The surrounding castle grounds are open to the public and contain some magnificent old trees, making it hard to photograph the building. I struggled a bit with my 40-150mm lens as I couldn´t get far enough away and still see through the trees. So here is a detail of the castle/apartment entrance with one of my favourite trees in front of it. You can just make out the sundial underneath the analogue clock. A better view of the sundial taken from the street here.
(I am happy to say my repaired 12-32mm lens is on its way over here to me at last. No more walking backwards into unseen obstacles/people/cars/ditches....)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.