Love letter carrier?

In Vinod's Aladdin's Cave I found this ancient letter/scroll carrier made of brass.  The document would have been rolled up and inserted, the cap replaced and tied down through the loops and stamped and sealed with wax.  Then the letter travelled by hand, horse or camel to the recipient.  How far we have come...

Today I had a couple of hours to spare before catching the train to Jaipur so I went to have a manicure.  The room was a bit dark and after a soaking in hot water that had been heated by dropping an element into it my hands were nail brushed all over.  Then she set to work with clippers - I screamed as she drew blood on the first finger, watched with horror as she bit so close to the quick that eventually I said she must stop - I looked at her pebble glasses more closely and decided to do a runner before she did more damage.  She howled after me that she would get her friend who could do it better but even when I passed by half an hour later the friend still hadn't arrived!

Yusuf accompanied me to the station for the 7 hour train journey - comfy seats and a charming lady to talk with for some of the way.  I am invited for lunch some time this week

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.