Nothing happens here...

By StuartDB

Easdale Cottages inspired

I got tired of tidying the book cases.  I'll do that later.  After wandering around the higgledy piggeldy, mish mash of cottages on Easdale Island last week I've restarted a small project to build a short street of Scottish style cottages.  Not twee designs with rambling roses, just straight forward dwellings that were used by working families in the 1960's - before they - the locals - were forced out by incomers who use them twice a year.

They'll be mainly scratch built and will have an element of everyday use about them.  Maybe a tin bath in the yard, a lean to outhouse, some weeds up the front step, and a slate off the roof.  No problem in finding a replacement there as Easdale is one of the 'Slate Islands'.

I can't give you a plan of development because there isn't one.  I'm making it up as I go along, a bit of trial and error.  I'm not very good at scratch building houses and shops, I start them and then put them in the garage in frustration.  This time, I hope by telling you what I'm up to I'll feel an obligation to keep going.  It's working so far.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.