around here somewhere

By thehammerton

Piccadilly Circus

Today we are down for a short half-term visit to London, which is always an interesting change from the more sedate pace of life in Shropshire. I don't typically make a bee-line for the epicentre of the tourist trail but I made the error of admitting there were toy shops in London and inevitably that discussion lead to visiting Hamleys on Regent Street. I initially said that there was an ancient bylaw banning the sale of 'items intended for the pursuit of merriment and frivolity' in London and that the kids from there had to go out of town to get their toys, and apparently convincingly since this was met with a look of dismay rather than incredulous scorn from my step-daughter. As tempting as it was to maintain the fiction I felt bad about it and owned up and so after visiting said shop we walked across to Chinatown by way of Piccadilly Circus, where the low sun and crowds of tourists looked interesting together. I took this with an old M42 Soviet lens, the 37mm Mir 1B, sometimes billed as a Flektogon copy but also known for its unique and lovely lens flare.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.