Hokkaido Snowscape

Today has been eventful. The last day of the Martin Bailey Winter Wonderland Tour and our plans were changed by the prediction of an impending snow-storm that was about to hit the island of Hokkaido. We'd already changed flights so that we were close to an airport at the South of the Island which was going to be less impacted by the storm but we awoke to news that all flights from Kushiro had been cancelled and it was highly unlikely we would be back in Tokyo as planned which meant I would miss my return flight to the UK (and incur a rather hefty fee for a new flight).

Fortunately, the amazing Tour Guide, Yukiko, moved heaven and earth to find another airport on the island that was still flying, managed to book all 16 people in the group onto the flight and get us the three hours drive to the airport in time for the last flight out before that airport was closed too!

On the way to the airport we saw scenes similar to this which kind of hint how the traditional Japanese minimalist art developed. It was such a beautiful scene and one that I will hold with me from my wonderful trip to Japan, I sincerely hope it won't be my last.

Tomorrow is going to be travelling and then Sunday is going to be the hard job of selecting the images that I am going to work on and put up for sale to hopefully pay for the next trip here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.