Butterflies and Birdies

A group of us headed off to RHS Wisley today to take in the Butterflies in the Glasshouse.   We got in a 10am, and finally emerged, like the butterflies from their crysallis, shortly after 12 noon in time for lunch.

Afterwards PaulKnowles, Wildcardinal and I headed into the Pinetum and the bird hide at the far end. Things were not looking hopeful in the dull dreary weather when suddenly I saw a bird on a branch, and lifted the camera to my eye. I failed to get a shot, but saw enough to realise it was a kingfisher - my first ever sighting!  Only Paul really had a long enough lens to do it any justice,  but we spent a glorious 20mins or so watching and trying to get shots of her (she had an orange beak - so female). My shots were all rather soft - but I got a couple reasonable ones to remind me of the day.

Thanks Paul for arranging it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.