Temptation!

Last year when I had my 'well man' test with the nurse at the GP's, she was quite keen that I should stick to 28 units of alcohol per week but also have two or three days when I didn't drink at all. I did pretty well at sticking to this up until Christmas although my success rate has been a little patchy since then.

I've not found it *too* difficult to stick to two or three glasses of wine of an evening - unless I'm out somewhere - but the abstinence days are far trickier. I can find myself being fairly ambivalent about having a drink on the days when I'm allowing myself to have one but it's a different kettle of fish on the teetotal days.

It's this perverse psychology of wanting something more when you can't have it. On my brother's advice, I tried the 5/2 diet for a couple of weeks but I simply found that I spent the fasting days obsessed by food. The next day, a non-fasting day, I'd just eat when I was hungry.

So, today is a non-drinking day. As I wandered 'round Booths with the kids, I came to the drinking corner last and sighed as I looked at the shelves of wine and beer. I'm not even sure I wanted a drink - I'm less likely to have one on the days and evenings when I have the kids - but I was wrestling once again with the fact that I wasn't allowed one.

Lately I've been wondering if there is some method - NLP? CBT? - that I could use to try and even it all out a bit. But maybe the answer is just to stick with it and build good habits.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.