I had just driven through the Arctic..

I had a very strange drive to work today. I was driving up to Redcar to deliver a training course, a journey of about 75 miles. I left home in clear sky and a little frost on the road and by the time I had travelled 30 miles and was on the A19 north of York the snow was coming down so heavily that I couldn't see the road and we were down to 30mph..I was convinced that I wasn't going to make it off the road that I was on let alone to turn around and get home..it was a perfect illustration of how rubbish we are at dealing with snow on the roads. The only choice I had was to keep going and hope it would stop at some point. And then as quickly as it started, the snow stopped and within a few miles there was no sign of snow and by the time I arrived it was 5 deg C and sunshine and nobody believed me that I had just driven through the Arctic. 

I had a plan...I had a camera..I would photograph the evidence, all the snow that would still be on the ground on my drive home 5 hours later...not much of a plan..as you can see..no snow was left and now even I am not sure that I believe that I had just driven through the Arctic!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.