Edinburgh Chap's Photos

By GilesGuthrie

Birthday Girl (154/366)

I was on a 4-day business trip in Wales. My plane landed in Edinburgh at about 6pm. By the time I'd collected my bags and got back to the house, it was about 7. I put the dinner on. Just some breaded chicken and chips.

My wife called to me that she was bleeding. We panicked for a couple of minutes before I remembered that I worked for an outsourcing company, and if there was ever anything to outsource, it was this.

It turns out that if you dial 999 and announce that your 34-week-pregnant wife is bleeding, you get the undivided attention of the operator.

15 minutes later we're in the ambulance, travelling at some rate down the centre line of a very busy dual carriageway, cars diving to either side to get out of our way.

Shortly after 1am, Emma was delivered by emergency caesarean section. 6 weeks early. Eight years ago today.

Happy Birthday Emma.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.