Photogen

By Photogen

Painted Tongue

One of Anthurium’ s nicknames is 'Painted Tongue’ and I think this particular bract is as close to looking like a tongue as you could get! The red flower of Anthuriums is really a spathe or a waxy, leaf-type structure flaring out from the base of a fleshy spike where its actual tiny real flowers grow. 


I have never looked after one before and obviously nothing as exotic as this originates is these cold climes. I’ve read that they need a fortnightly feed and like a totem to climb, and not as much light as other house plants. It will be fun to see how far I can take it on its journey upwards!  It looks so waxy and shiny like a car in a showroom!


I have given this shot a little touch of an accentuated edges filter. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.