Dear Heart

By dearheart

The Pity Parade

Dear Heart,
Felt very sorry for myself today. In the midst of such beautiful weather I found myself bed-ridden and sneezing, under the weight of the worst cold I can remember. Sickness makes me bitter, and I found myself glaring at people outside in the street and hating them for their arrogant display of good health.
My throat is impossibly tight and I miss the small comfort of having two nostrils to breathe out of instead of just the one. I constructed a fort of food around myself that included cookies, tortilla chips, several varieties of vitamin juice and endless red grapes. Out of the blue, Siân arrived with Galaxy chocolate, tulips and a fresh supply of tissues. I climbed the stairs after the hundredth refill of my water bottle to find her unpacking various heaven-sent items onto my sick bed. Angel.
Love, Lydia x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.