Iceland Gull

Back to the birds - although more accidentally than by design. I've hardly been out in the last month and today this shot came as I was driving back from the doctor's surgery having had my dressing changed again!
It is not quite as sharp as I would like but it is clearly an Iceland Gull - closely related to the Glaucous Gull that has probably featured too much in my blips this winter.
There has been quite an influx of Iceland Gulls over the last week with c 150 birds recorded in the UK and the Western Isles has been the focus of the influx however I was not expecting to see one on the road a kilometre short of the house.
Always worth having the binoculars and camera in the car every journey. Indeed having the camera omnipresent has been one of the best consequences of doing a daily blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.