A time for everything

By turnx3

Coot amidst the reflections

Thursday
Such a gorgeous day today after a frosty start - the sun shone all day and it was really quite warm in the afternoon! It was our Lent lunch again today - didn't have so far to go this week though, just this side of Fontainebleau. It was a lovely sunny room, with windows on two walls, so we were able to still enjoy the sunshine even though we were inside. There were 8 of us today enjoying the Christian fellowship and the usual fare of soup, baguette and cheese followed by fruit. Later in the afternoon, I had another friend form church come round for tea and cake. She is German, but has lived in France for many years. She speaks very good English, but today I decided we should speak in French, since I don't get much chance to practice, since most of my friends here are English! I find I still understand French pretty well, (though I struggle a bit on the phone), but my spoken French has definitely deteriorated since we were here last, from 1986-96. We finished up our meeting, reading a few verses from the Psalms, and having a short time of prayer, so it was a great day spent in Christian company. I still didn't have a blip by this time, so when she had left, I drove to the lake at Samoreau and got this capture of a coot amidst the late afternoon reflections.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.