Tutto bene

By Blackdrake

Alfie!!!

He's home :-)
After dropping the girls off at school, I came home, checked the courtyard - no Alfie, I started to feel despondent and thought we'd never see him again.  Then gave myself into trouble for being negative, thought positive thoughts, did the cat whistle and went inside.  Zeph wanted to sit at the door again, so I let him, then he got all spooked and in walked Alfie.  I was crying with relief and almost couldn't believe it.

He went to the litter tray, ate some tuna and had a big drink.  But then I noticed he had a bit of a hobbly gait.  When I checked the litter tray, I noticed blood in his pee.  So I called the vet, then quickly the relief turned back into fear.  He'd disappeared up to the top of the house and hidden himself under the bed, it took me ages to find him. 
The vet gave him a thorough check over.  Heart rate steady, temp normal, nothing obviously broken.  However his claws are badly damaged.  We think he's been trapped somewhere and scrambling to get out, as opposed to being hit by a car.  Either way, I reckon he's one life down - but certainly not out.
There are a lot of enclosed courtyards here, the door to ours has a gap at the bottom, but many don't, or maybe he sneaked into a garage.
He took himself up to Elise's bed and slept soundly all day.  I took him extra special food, so he's eaten lots now, but still lethargic and subdued.  Understandable, poor lad has been through a lot.
He'll be getting anti-inflammatory meds for a few days, and a good eye kept on him..and one more thing - he is GROUNDED!

Phew! Early bed for me, I am exhausted - lack of sleep and all that nervous/emotional stuff is tiring.
Thanks for your kind, sympathetic comments yesterday, you are all lovely.

Ciao

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.