Always inconstant...

By bikeyPete

Memory cycle

Sleep, so quickly over.

Washed along on the wave of normality, I leave the slumbering domiciles, like a row of soldiers asleep at their posts.

Across the golden Fens, tranquil and already lazy in the morning sun, filled with an ancient apathy no breeze stirs.

The coolest breeze caresses my face as I peddle through the jostling houses, filled with the scent of dampened dewy pasture. Over the forbidden bridge with its array of ignored and futile signs. Stop.......there, a blue and sparkling watery pathway undisturbed by ravaging rowing teams, stills my whirring mind.

Verdant and intricate shapes surround me as I make my way, beguiled and transfixed, down the little path, the gentle whir of my cycle tyres beating out the rhythm. A happy chorus abounds from every side of me. Birds filling the potent air with enchanted song.
Past the snoring Narrow Boats.

Under the concrete monster, silent for a change.Out onto the common where the daisies and Dandelion heads wave me 'Hello'. Stillness and solitude, where are all the people? This morning is mine, each little part, a moment of poetry and memory.

Work. At least I have these memories of my cycle ride in to keep me sane!

:)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.