Scrawny Old Man

By richtoller

From small beginnings...

Remember I presented £1000 to the Disabled Centre at their graduation? And some generous giving followed on - for the Centre to build a primary school to enable disabled children to learn alongside the able-bodied. A big step forward for people who have been severely disadvantaged and discriminated against.
Well, then I went north for a week - and when I got back to Offinso and the Centre, work had begun, clearing the ground and making blocks for the building.

In July 2009 I was at the Centre with a physiotherapist friend who was volunteering there - they had just a bare room and no equipment for physiotherapy. After that she got together a lot of physio equipment that was being replaced by some hospitals in Scotland, but still in good condition, and we sent it in a container. By the time of my next visit in February 2011 the equipment was installed and being used in the new physio block which is in the background here.
Next time I go I anticipate seeing the first phase of the school complete and the school in operation. Can't wait!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.