Dublin Shooter

By dublinshooter

Hanging out

I spoiled myself and pigged out on music today and tomorrow. David Lang's Festival of Music was on in the National Concert Hall, and I got myself a two-day pass. I had four concerts today, at 3:00, 6:00, 8:00 and 10:30 pm. I tried to catch a bite to eat in the Concert Hall restaurant between the second and third events, but gave up after sitting at a table for fifteen minutes without anyone even bringing me a menu. So I went to Hourican's pub in Leeson Street for a toasted sandwich and a shandy instead.
Hourican's is a proper pub! Not only does it serve Smithwick's (too many places around town aren't offering it any more), but they even have coat hooks at the bar. The sun was streaming in and the coat looked very photogenic, so blip sorted.
The Festival is devoted to mostly contemporary music. David Lang is quite a big name in the USA (New York, specifically) in this field, and is one of the founders of Bang on a Can, and had brought over the Bang on a Can All-Stars. The first concert had been a bit of a let-down, the second (with the All-Stars) had been terrific, and the third was a bit special too, involving the National Symphony Orchestra and So Percussion (also over from the States). I was really excited about the late-night event with the Dublin Guitar Quartet, but it turned out to be a big disappointment. It was the world première of a work by one of the Bang on a Can big-shots. It was untitled in the programme, but the composer introduced it as 'Amplified'. It sure was! Very loud, and very monotonous. I hope to hear the Quartet again, but with better music next time. So, I'd got to the concert hall at 2:30 and finally left for home at 11:40 — a full day, with a fuller one ahead tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.