The Lozarithm Lens

By Lozarithm

Caen Hill Locks (Wednesday 4th March 2015)

There is usually a pair of swans nesting on the Boto-X Lock on the Caen Hill flight at Devizes at this time of year, and when I checked in on Wednesday to see if they were back I found them on a site that has been used by swans before. The nest is in place and the pen swan has been sitting in it and making adjustments, but as yet has not laid any eggs. I shall try to keep an eye on their progress if I am passing.

The pen swan was on the prospective nest when I came out of Caen Hill Café (top centre-left) but later joined the cob swan on the side pond behind the lock that was sailing towards me in the picture.

I was on my way to Melksham and also stopped off by another stretch of the Kennet and Avon nearby in Seend, parking on Spout Lane.

L.
8.3.2015 (1627 hr)

Blip #1517 (#1767 including archived blips)
Consecutive Blip #010
Day #1806
LOTD #752 (#872 including archived blips)

A Visit To Caen Hill Locks, 4 March 2015 (Flickr album)

Lenses: Pentax 12-24 mm, Pentax 17-70 mm (Blip), Pentax 55-300 mm x1.4 rear converter)

Swan series
Canals series
Kennet and Avon Canal series
Landscape series

Lozarhythm Of The Day:
Ray Pollard - The Drifter (1965)

One Year Ago: Chippenham (Another swan)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.