JustBrian

By justbrian

Chemical beach.

I read about this place on the internet, I suppose I stumbled on it. It's not very far from Blast beach, where I've been previously. I'd seen a photograph of some old wagon wheels in the surf so I went in search of them, unfortunately I didn't find them so I have to assume that they were covered by the sea as the tide had turned by the time I arrived. It's a bit of a trial to get from the car park to the beach having to descend a really steep path then climb over huge granite boulders that form part of the sea defence. The beach gets it's name from the old chemical works that used to be nearby, at one time this beach was very polluted there were several pits nearby Vane Tempest and Dawdon were almost right next to the beach. There is evidence now that the sea is reclaiming the beach with all of the old slake having been washed out to sea, this part of the east Durham coastline is stunning there's a wealth of things to see.
I live about 40 mins drive away and after today's trip I'll be back.
The lighthouse in the background is at the entrance to Seaham Harbour.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.