Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

Mono Monday Challenge: Entrances and Exits

My house was built well over 100 years ago as a workers cottage but now bears little resemblance to how it looked then. It had an attached workshop/butchery/bakehouse and when we moved in about 20 years ago some of the older villagers could remember bringing their Sunday dinner along to cook in the residual heat of the bakers oven. The bakehouse has long been demolished and we have built a modern conservatory where it once was, and the workshop/butchery area is just part of the house now. There was also a stable yard at the back but the stables have also been demolished, although I sometimes come across some old foundations if I'm digging deep enough in the garden.

There used to be two separate entrances at the front of the building but both of these were blocked off at some time long past, so this back door is now our only entrance or exit other than through the conservatory. It's certainly unusual but it is quite amusing to watch people circle the house trying to find the front door before knocking on what they think is the back, and apologising for having done so!

I have a couple of photos of the house as it was; one I got from the local council archive service, and the other from a villager who took it from the top of the church tower. It is amazingly clear given it must have been taken at least 50 years ago so all the old bakehouse and stables are clearly shown.

And especially for one of my Blipfriends, my Boot Scraper is clearly shown outside the door. (You'd have had to be in on the conversation to know what I'm talking about!)

Thanks to Chantler63 for hosting the challenge this month.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.