Bowood 2015 #9 (Sunday 8th March 2015)

What happened to the glorious weekend weather we were promised? It was grey on Sunday morning when I reached Bowood Lake and wetter and more grey when I got back a couple of hours later.

On Coombe Grove near the start I saw a large brown bird swooping between trees at about 1120 hr, wings wrong for a buzzard but too big for a tawny. Possibly it was a short-eared owl but would one have been active at that time? Not for the first time I wished I was better at the identification of flora and fauna. A distant heron and honking Canadas was about it for wildlife, but I had an enjoyable walk without seeing a soul, apart from one angler on the opposite bank and two separate horse riders on Coombe Grove as I walked back.

I took the opportunity to explore a couple of areas I hadn't walked before, so I got some landscape views from fresh viewpoints. My blip was taken from a higher vantage point than normal, after I had crossed the small footbridge on the way back and was looking back at the lake, with a distant Bowood House shrouded in mist. On the lake are a Canada goose and a Lesser Canada goose, with a mallard.

L.
12.3.2015 (1910 hr)

Blip #1521 (#1771 including archived blips)
Consecutive Blip #014
Day #1810
LOTD #756 (#876 including archived blips)


A Walk Up To Bowood Lake, 8 March 2015 (Flickr album)

Bowood 2015 series
Bowood series
Bowood 2013-2015 (Flickr collection)(Work in progress)
Landscape series

Lens: Pentax 55-300 mm x1.4 rear converter (Blip), Pentax 17-70 mm

Lozarhythm Of The Day:
Inspiral Carpets ft. John Cooper Clarke - Let You Down (2015)

One Year Ago: Smokey 1534 hr

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.