2014 more running needed

By Brianporterrun

Fracking

Some days you know where you are going and therefore the type of blip you are going to get.
Some days you get there and the blips aren't what you want to produce.

This morning I met up with yearofhappy who came over at my suggestion to run the Blackpool Beach 10K. It was really great to meet her and just as when I met Minnchip we got on great. I think it must be blipland and its thos that help made this possible.

I thoroughly enjoyed the run along the beach and back. I think yearofhappy did too eventually, but I don't think I was her most popular person immediately afterwards. It was warm hot!

Yearofhappy took some great shots and I saw a man trying to get his dog to look in the right direction for him to get the shot he wanted. I whistled, the dog turned its head and he got the shot he wanted. I wonder if he's blipping it? I do hope so; I should have asked. A few minutes later I got a good shot of his dog on the beach and such is the wonder of technology I was able to text it to him, much to his pleasure.

I almost blipped the sign I saw on thhe way home: Zebra crossing ahead. Slow down.
I slowed, I stopped. I took the photo, and I waited. Still no zebra. In fact no animals at all!

So I took this (I knew this waffle was supposed to be heading somewhere!)
A convoy of 5 of these was progressing at walking speed as I headed home. They are something to do with all the testing that is going on to see if Fracking for shale gas is going to be possible on The Fylde Coast.

So far they have established there is a lot of gas. If they can get it all it could fuel the UK for up to 80 years. But the process is controversial with reports of gas coming out of water taps in the USA. That shouldn't happen here because our water supplies are from surface water so the gas couldn't get into the water supply.

Seismic tests are now being carried out to test the extent to which Fracking might cause earthquakes, and we have miles of cabling across the area recording seismic activity.

My view is that eventually it will get the go ahead, but not before a load of enquiries, select committees and God knows what other meetings and conferences. I'm sure it has its dangers, so does Oil in The North Sea, and electricity generation. But I'm sure the risks will be assessed and minimised. I hope so

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.