2+3+1+1

By tpd

the traffic

... was murder today. +1/2 was up far too early to go off to the North London Half Marathon (Allianz Park to Wembley Stadium and back) and the plan was that I would come along with the +3s in time to see +1/2 cross the line. The best laid plans and all that.

Drove to Mill Hill East tube station and dropped the car as there was a shuttle bus service running to get you to/from the stadium. All fine apart from some medium traffic. Get on shuttle bus. End up in Mill Hill proper and getting stuck in very heavy traffic.

me: "oh... are you not going to the stadium?"
driver: "no luv, no buses going to the stadium now, only leaving"
me: "argh"

Turn around, find a bus to take us back to tube. 

driver: "are you going to the stadium?"
me: "yes..."
driver: "there's a shuttle bus right over there..."
me: "argh"

Then to top it off +1/2 came out of the stadium and went to the wrong tube station so we had to drive through more traffic. 

But the important part, obviously, is that +1/2 completed her first half marathon with no trouble (it nearly killed me). 

Home (eventually), snack, out for Mother's Day early dinner at local Italian (very good) where +3/3 appeared to eat his own body weight in food. +2/3 claimed to be full but seemed rather interested in these macarons on the way home!

A bit more pondering on the backup script; it seems to be working for a good few people now but the technical hurdle is quite steep; I'm working on that one. More interestingly, yesterday's blip got about 10x more views than normal; this seems to indicate my technical chops are decidedly better than my photographic chops. Perhaps I should change to posting useful snippets of python...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.