Covered in Bees

By PaulFS

High Rise

After not much sleep I woke up and could see light through my thin tent walls. Usually I put on an eye mask but I hadn't bothered, so not knowing what time it was I check my phone and saw it was 4.45am!

Sunrise time!!!

I frantically unzipped my sleeping bag, getting the zip caught up in my haste. Quickly dressed and left the tent with my silk sleeping bag liner tucked into the back of my trousers trailing behind... Luckily I noticed before it got mucky!

Unlike the last time I tried (and failed) to blip a sunset from a mountain-top this time the skies were completely clear and the horizon had beautiful colours.

So I trotted off to the edge of the crag and took photo's before finding a rock to sit and watch it unfold, a light beer in hand, before going back to bed for 4 hours :o)

(I would never normally imbibe so early, but as it was a special occasion, and you could argue it was very late rather than very early, I decided to indulge myself!)

The rest of the day was glorious - not a huge amount of trekking was done as it was so hot, but it was fantastic to be out there on such an amazing weekend.

(If you missed Friday's backblip - it's here)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.