Inside The Halls of Justice

There is a Bill being debated in New Hampshire - it's called the Good Samaritan Bill.  It provides that if someone is suffering a drug overdose, the person who calls will not be charged or arrested if they themselves are high or have a small quantity of drugs on their person.  I was contacted a couple of weeks ago and asked if I would be willing to testify before a Senate committee on this topic.  This is WAY outside of my comfort zone, but with the number of lives being lost to heroin overdoses in the country and really in the world, I felt I had to do it.  There were many of us testifying individually today; corrections officers, drug counsellors, parents who had lost children.  This is not the first time this bill was up for a vote.  I sure hope it passes this time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.