Humu, by Filipe Tohi (2002)

Humu translates to Mata'a Tangaloa (Eyes of the Gods), and it was erected in 2002. It is beside the Coastal Walkway as it passes by central New Plymouth.

Filipe Tohi is a sculptor of wood, stone and steel. His current work explores the patterns and history of Lalava, Pacific Island traditional cord lashings. He lives and works in New Plymouth. He was born in Nukualofa (Tonga).

This is another photo to include in my collection of sculpture, and also be part of the group on public art.

I am really pleased that I have a photo to post tonight which demonstrates my connection with and commitment to Blipfoto

Great to have heard from Joe, and the news seems positive and hopeful. I will continue to copy my entries, as I have been thinking of doing that for many months.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.