Holi – Indian Festival of Colours

I was going to meet up with a freind and her grandchild and go and look around the Easter fun in Hagley Park.. I got a call to say they couldn't make it. I went over for walk and took a few shots this afternoon. I could still hear the music from the Holi Festival so went over to have a look. I managed to take a few shots through the fence. It was $15 to get in and I didn't really wanted to be covered in colours. 

To my surprise I managed to get some good shots. I started to do a collage but thought this shot was so interesting. It really got lost with my other shots and needed to stand on its own.

After the the festival I went and looked around the fanZone where people were enjoying the beautiful day and watching the cricket world cup.

The Holi is all about celebrating with Indian-fusion performances and bring different cultures together for one big party. They enjoyed traditional Indian games, cultural performances and festive Holi delicacies.

This traditional Indian holiday originates from folk stories, passed down through generations. Each region in India celebrates in its own way but Holi is widely recognised as a day to forgive, look ahead and celebrate with colours as a community.

Holi got its name as the "Festival of Colors" from Lord Krishna, a re-incarnation of Lord Vishnu, who liked to play pranks on the village girls by drenching them in water and colors. Unwavering devotion to Lord Vishnu, the Hindu God of preservation, enabled the destruction of demoness Holika.

For more information on Holi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.