Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Keeping Hexham tidy

I was in town fairly early for a haircut and was suprised to see so many people cleaning the streets, washing benches and windows and generally busying about.  When I was in Andalucia recently, this would have been a common sight, with a lot of people employed to clean the streets.

Then I saw our MP,  Guy Opperman, working hard with 2 Tesco employees.  He had invited all businesses to join in today's effort to look after the town centre.  They had drawn the short straw, because they were cleaning up the outside of the rubbish bins, where the odd Friday night curry had been too much for a diner. Ugh.

I often disagree with Guy's politics, but I have to say that he is a first rate constituency MP who is often involved in community projects across the patch. It makes it very difficult to know who to vote for.

Thank you for all your concern about silly Aggie yesterday.  I'm picking myself up today and thinking about how best to organise the next few months. The Dolomites walking holiday is particularly on my mind, but I'm sure there will be a solution.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.