Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Equinox

Anyone remember that piece of music from Jean Michel Jarre?? (I may be giving my age away by mentioning that.)

Seriously though, today is the day that I have to start remembering to quote a different number when I'm asked the question. Fortunately I won't be jumping into the next bracket on those annoying forms that give you an age range to choose from!

I have had an incredible day - from start to finish! Thank you to all my friends who made it very special and for all your good wishes on my post yesterday. Just a few images here to try to sum up the day... G gave me the very cool card on the top left. I LOVE it! Inside she wrote some very cool things, two of which were the promise of a trip to Panini (where I had the death-by-chocolate Grand Truffle cake (below right), a trip to Platres (while we're in Cyprus), and best of all, the promise to allow me to play my music LOUD - but only valid for 21.3.15!!! I am now trying to think of ways to have more than one birthday in a year!!! The image on the top right is another card from G.

Joking aside, it really has been a good day, though not necessarily spent doing "birthday" things. It was the last full day off before a scheduled trip to Cyprus, so some preparation for that. In between "work" and celebrating, two hair trims were had at very short notice, and as I didn't get to it yesterday, ironing had to be done too. The week ahead is too full to have left it for another evening. *Sigh*

And G has baked a banana cake for me to take into work tomorrow. Woo hoo! :D  Oh, and I musn't forget the hamper on the bottom left. That is a present from Diane! She obviously knows me very well giving me champagne, Hello Kitty things and . . .Ferrero Rocher chocolates!!! G groaned at the thought of where all those stickers are going to end up. 8|

... and the title... it is the Spring equinox! I have to admit to forgetting that it actually means that the day and night are of equal length. How cool. But the real reason I chose it was to mark the very special Eclipse we experienced yesterday (which I forgot to mention in all my excitement reporting about the Afternoon Tea), along with the Super Moon.

Last but not least... had news from friend rachelwhynot that the Tower of London poppy she had ordered for us in August has arrived. I have to admit when I heard they were going on sale, I wanted to get one for G, but didn't put in an order in time. So generous of our friend to think of us! Thank you!

Sorry I haven't got to you today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.