A bit of a blur...

Thanks for all the kind comments on yesterday's blip.

I was up at silly o'clock this morning to get the first train down to London, so I'm pretty tired and things are a bit of a blur today. I'm in the big smoke for a whole heap of meetings and hopefully catching up with Bisk, McDawg and any other blippers who can make the meet up tonight ... precise location to be determined. Probably some shots to be added to more42 on Flickr later...

<rant>

The main reason for my tiredness is that last night I tried to update my Zone Alarm Internet Security Suite when the prompt came up:

"Do you want to upgrade"

Yes I thought niaively ... However, it totally shagged up my computer and got caught up with some Vista updates. I couldn't uninstall it and had to resort to safe mode, deleting windows services, hacking the registry and using utilities other people had written to get rid of it!

Of course the remenants basically stopped me accessing the internet so I had to research on my work laptop and then download files/fixes across on memory cards.

About 4 hours and 15 reboots later (rather than being in bed early, which is what I had planned) it was back working and the latest version installed successfully. But all my firewall and security settings were completely evaporated.

Why are computers so hard ... and I work in the industry!

</rant>


Good job I got some sleep on the train!

- - - - -

LOTD: I loved William Elliot's purple sky/sun ray blip. Magnificent.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.