Yes or No? Did He or Didn't He?

(Answer later.)

When I pulled up to the boat launch, this heron was hiding under the dock, with this tasty morsel in his mouth. If I had money to bet...I would have bet NO, but I can't believe some of the fish that I've seen these guys eat.

(Answer later.)

My daughter and Merrick got home to Michigan at 2 a.m. this morning, and no, Merrick did not sleep on the plane. A long night and morning, but he was up and raring to go at 8:30.

We didn't do much today, until going over to my brothers for supper. My S-I-L made French onion soup, a fancy salad, and then had Crème Brulee for dessert. Delicious. While Joy did all the prep work, my brother Jim performed masterfully on the torch...melting the cheese on the soup, and the sugar on the dessert. Again...delicious.

Now...to the mystery of the brunch of the big blue heron. I would have won the bet. He couldn't swallow the fish carcass. Too wide, I would guess. After many attempts, he left the fish for the gulls and crows to peck at.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/124969130@N06/sets/72157649234340774/ click above for 5 more shots. After the failed attempt at lunch, the bird joined his mate on the dock for a strange dance...strutting and looking skyward. Fun to watch.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.