Unbalanced

After watching the airport bus take my sister into the first rain of the week, the bereft of us almost give up on our planned visit to the sea. But the rain thins so Barceloneta it is. Shiny stones and palm trees against the grey. Wet reflections and sheltering for coffee. A posh paella then climbing the cable-car gantry to look down on long nets, blue, green, brown, strung out on the ground.

When we get back to Catalunya Square to pick up our baggage, I discover that the daysack on my back has had the attention of Barcelona's famous pickpockets. I never, never keep anything valuable on my back and they have left my water bottle and phrase book untouched behind the open zips. 

Our turn for the airport, and we watch the sky darken from behind its huge glass windows. Even though my sister managed only three of her six planned days with us, it's been a great week in a brilliant place.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.