The Lovely Mr K

This is Mr K pretending not to know I'm taking his photo. He looks so natural and unselfconscious!!!
My car finally went in for a service this morning and rather thūan me waiting for a couple of hours in the dealers Mr K decided to come too and we headed to Ikea for breakfast. We know how to live!!
I was going to be good and just have some toast but when it came to ordering I accidentally asked for a 9 item breakfast. Oops!
It was very tasty and a bargain at £2.25!!
Mr K made the most of the free wi-fi while I made the most of the free tea and coffee. 
And had a quick dash round for new washing up liquid dispensing sponge! I went wild and bought two!!
Once the car was ready Mr K headed home to carry on working and I headed to the fish shop.
I failed to mention that a few weeks ago Libra (pronounced Lybra) had swum off to the great fish bowl in the sky. That was a little bit traumatic but things got a lot worse today.......
In the summer I bought a big Biorb fishtank at a car boot sale. Fantastic to look at, hideous to clean out.
Over the last few weeks the water has got greener and greener and murkier and murkier. Not a day has gone by where I haven't thought "I must clean out the fishtank."
Especially over the last week or so because Purple Fin and Barbara had seemingly disappeared - presumed dead - in the gunky mouldy plastic weed.
So I went to the fish shop with a view to buying a new, smaller tank and if possible a new Purple Fin and a new Barbara.
There were no tanks below £50 and no new Purple Fins but I did manage to get a dead ringer for Barbara. 
I headed home with New Barbara and suddenly remembered we'd put the original tank in the loft. 
I put New Barbara in and then set about getting New New Lucy out of the green goop. Easier said than done!
And knowing there were two dead fish lurking about somewhere made it even more unpleasant.
Bizarrely New New Lucy completely disappeared and even when I lifted up the plastic weed I couldn't find her. 
And then when I put the weed back down I was convinced I had put it on top of her and there were now three dead fish in there. Nice.
I donned my rubber gloves and lifted the weed up, bracing myself for unpleasantness.
So I was amazed to see Purple Fin right in the middle of the weed, completely wedged in but miraculously still alive.
Still no sign of New New Lucy,  I couldn't get Purple Fin out of the weed and by now I was late to go and get Miss L for swimming so it was all getting a bit stressful.
New New Lucy had wedged herself under a rock and I eventually found her and got her into the new tank.
Mr K had to do the honours with Purple Fin as I had to leave.
I left it to him what he would do if he found Barbara alive and well too as the Little Misses might have been a  little suspicious if there were suddenly inexplicably two Barbaras......
She didn't turn up alive or dead. Very odd.
So that was my afternoon dealing with fish. Lots of lessons learnt: steer clear of naff fake plastic weed, clean out the tank before it gets to the primordial soup stage and never doubt the will of goldfish to live!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.