It's a Journey....

By LeeAnn

Home Again

Meet Mama Kitty.  So far that seems to be her name.  We noticed her last summer under the neighbor's porch with two kittens.  Over the summer and into the fall Don befriended the kittens but Mama would hiss and bat at him (even though he was feeding them).  In the winter he made a nice warm bed for them in the garage and brought them in.  Eventually she started to let him pet her.  Three weeks ago we brought all three cats out to a friend's barn 8.5 miles from our home.  They seemed to be settling in nicely.  Yesterday afternoon I was stunned to see Mama Kitty sitting in our yard!  I could not believe it was actually her, but there is no mistaking this face.  Now she and Don are the best of friends.  I came home from shopping today to find them both laying on a chair on the porch.  She still doesn't like me, but did let me pet her as long as she was sitting with her new love!  I have a feeling this Mama is not going back out to the barn.  The instinct that helped her find her way back is amazing; I have no idea how she did it. 
Anna said this is just like the movie Homeward Bound and we should name her Sally.  Cats rule, dogs drool, as Sally (or Sassy) would say. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.