Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

common vetch, vicia sativa

A cloudy start to the day, but by the time I hit the woods there were sunny periods and it was very pleasant. I collected a few insect images, mostly flies and was not exactly enthralled. I was thinking of calling it a day when I got talking to a very interesting chap by the name of John Hayward. He was quite knowledgeable in birds, insects and fauna and suggested that I try the butterfly glade. I had never heard of this spot in the woods and he was kind enough to walk me there and we had an interesting chat on the way.

Unfortunately, no butterflies other than a few orange tips, one of which I captured a nice image. The glade was light on nettles and heavy on buttercups, a very pleasant location for a sit down on the bench provided by the woods management team. John also told me that the glade sprouts a few wild orchids but they are already finished.

I had a good poke around and found this little gem. I don't know if it is an orchid, in fact I was unaware that wild orchids even existed in the UK, but as I discover virtually on a daily blip basis, the UK countryside has a lot more to offer than I ever realised before. Thank you blip for opening my eyes!

I was thinking of merging a few British wild flowers together but decided that this stunning bloom deserved the stage to herself. I did manage to sneak one insect in though!

Today's Indonesia difference discussion is utilities. We have the electricity bill in common, but with most Indonesian houses burning a few power saving bulbs and a TV screen for a couple of hours, the size of the bill is considerably lower. My bill is £25 per month with being lazy about switching lights off, TV on virtually 24/7, power tools used regularly, a fridge freezer and a water cooler. I don't know what a normal household bill is but I would guess much less than half of mine.

No water bills, all water comes from the well, pumped up to the tank by an electric pump controlled by a float switch. Bottled gas is used for cooking and a 15Kg bottle lasts me several months, but I am not exactly gourmet cheffing it on a daily basis. No council tax, car tax, insurance (unless you choose to buy it), no TV license. I pay $5.00 per month for security and that's about it!

Update - I changed the name from Orchid, if anyone is confused by the comments.

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.