Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

...Blink!

As in - you blink your eye and the little goldfinch is suddenly puffed up to twice her normal size! I had to laugh when I saw this, and then I had to blip it. Well, partly I had to blip it because the Blip-gods were not kind to me today. It was so stinking hot and humid out that NOTHING was moving. And, frankly, I wasn't in the mood to sit in a puddle of my own sweat and wait for something exciting to come along. So, this was taken on the fly. The finch landed, I raised the camera, she puffed, I fired off 5 shots, and ... voila! You get this.

I was hoping for a shot of the wrens that are nesting in the tree outside my office, but they are crafty little things and manage to disguise themselves as leaves whenever I go out. At least, that's my story. Mom is spending her time on the nest and leaves when I get within about 5 feet of the box - then she disappears into the birch tree. I hear her, I know she's there, but I'll be damned if I can see her. Dad, meanwhile, is scolding from one of the nearby trees. Can't see him either. Foiled.

In other news, I've entered a small bird photo contest online and one of my shots is a finalist for the May contest. It's now up to popular vote, so if you'd like to cast your vote for my photo, I'd be ever so grateful. All you have to do is CLICK HERE and cast your vote. (Mine is the first entry - the dark-eyed junco in the cherry tree.) Thanks!

Cheers!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.