Nan and her innominate cats

I often see these cats basking on the steps of a bungalow that I pass a mile or so from my house, and I know that a Chinese woman lives there but I have never spoken to her. Today I stopped to greet the cats and she appeared, with some seed potatoes she was planting. So I had a chat with her and then she posed with her cats. The one she is holding (black face, white nose) is the mother of the two brothers (white faces, black noses.)

She said her name was Nan and we talked about growing vegetables and keeping chickens (she has just started, with 5 hens). She seemed really fond of the cats but when I asked what they are called she said they have no names - she just calls them 'lovely' or something like that. It creates a problem at the vets' because they always ask for the animal's name for their records. She tells them 'he doesn't have a name' so they say 'we'll just put black and white tom cat' - 'but I've got two of them' she says.

What would T.S.Eliot think?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.