Life, Universe & Not Much

By micro43

Birchills

Recently renovated at the BCLM. It bears so little resemblance to the half-sunken, decaying wreck I photographed not so long ago that I had to ask someone if it really is the same boat. Well, I know it needed restoration, but honestly it was a far better photographic image before! Actually, I find the BCLM is, like other similar attractions, restoring everything to be pristine, removing 'ugly' things, and presents life (in the Black Country) in an entirely unrealistic way. The Black Country used to be described as 'black by day and red by night', but now it is depicted as a village with mostly comfortable (if limited) houses, warm and comfortable living rooms, and staff/volunteers dressed up smartly. Happily Fizzog Theatre do inject some reality from time to time, but I'm afraid this is depicted more as 'humour' and 'entertainment'.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.