Aperture on Life

By SheenaghMclaren

Bunting

I hope any locals will excuse my treatment of this photograph of the village. Like the bunting, it had to be done! I did have to wait some time to get a shot without traffic running past my lens! It is a busy road and I'm amazed I managed to get this!

The villagers have really come together to celebrate this coming weekend. I may blip another couple of features before the festivities end. Behind the fence in the middle of the image you may just be able to see an enlarged sized image of the Queen, dressed in blue, which stands behind a laid tea table, in a colourful cottage garden. Another effigy is a giant, hand made "Queenie" rag doll that is slouching on the roof of a house next to the post office, complete with crown! So irreverent but so much fun.

There is barely a house or fence in Albury that isn't decked, including the Duchess's house. Flags, balloons, bunting, streamers and whirligigs are all present and, I suspect, due to augment over the next few days! It's made my neighbour and I feel that we had better do something to prove we are game for some fun, so the postmaster handed over his last Union Flags and some balloons in exchange for my tenner!

I'm actually looking forward to Monday's party in the park!

The architects amongst you might be interested in the chimney's. Designed by Pugin,who was also responisible for the Palace of Westminster, there are over 100 unique, Tudor inspired, stacks in the village, 63 of which are on Albury Mansion alone!

Oh.. and my alternative blip for today if you dare

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.